SPRAWL 2011-12 begins pre=production

I’m back in Ohio for a while on a self-imposed residency, working on the 10-year anniversary photoshoot of the sites convered in my SPRAWL photodocumentary for the Smithsonian Museum of American Art.  As usual, I have come in with preconceptions which I expect to be destroyed.  With recent research telling me that several Midwestern cities will have substantial areas renaturalized, I am wondering what will happen to my home town of North Canton, Ohio when the Hoover vacuum cleaner company left the city.  Today, I have shot 6 of the 15 or so sites, and am thinking about scheduling interviews for the end fo the month.  This’ll be an interesting trip, and I’m also working with a lot of new technology, some of which is working better than others.  Example given – really interesting, but wondering how useful…

~ by patlichty on July 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
