The news from the Chicago/NYC binary system 10/18/09

In short, mainly because of my virtual residency at Eyebeam Art and Technology Center in NYC, I wanted to start telling people what I’ve been up to on a more frequent basis than my website allows.

Last week, I went to NYC for the opening of my pals Mike & Andy’s new film THE YES MEN FIX THE WORLD, and then went off to give Chase Bank a piece of our minds.  Great fun, and will continue when it all comes to Chicago!

The next goodie was a night of Performance in Second Life, hosted by Eyebeam and MC’ed by Scott Kildall, which featured Scott and I being the physical part of our virtual performance art group, Second Front, along with Lily Yang and Honglei doing the Sunken City, and Alan Sondheim with Foofwa doing amazing mixed reality work.  I finished it off by announcing the Yes Men’s virtual Survivaball Amusement Park in Second Life (with demo).

Our group, Second Front, has a new DVD out, entitled Avvie Road, with ten nifty tracks on it.  We’re already getting ready for the third, because we have a massive backlog of video.

Currently I am putting the finishing touches on an installation for the Doppelganger show at the Australian National Portrait Museum, featuring friends from Second front, Columbia, and all over Second Life.  The exciting thing is that this is the first time I’ve been activating web content through passive code retrieval in virtual worlds.  Really exciting.

~ by patlichty on October 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
